A Day In The Life Of A Nutritionist

I give out a lot of nutrition and lifestyle recommendations to women over 40.

People often want to know how this works in practice, in real life, so, I often get asked what I do for myself.

What do I eat in a day? and what health and wellness routines do I have?

Here is what an ordinary day might look like for me

My Morning routine

0600-0615 Wake up naturally and get out of bed

I brush my teeth and then let my dog and cat out. I also take this opportunity to get some morning light at the back door

0630 – I set my intentions for the day – my 3 main goals. I write them on a post-it note and stick them to the back of my phone (I learnt about this from the brilliant Mel Robbins)

I also drink a glass of water, maybe two, whilst I am making a large cup of green tea

0640 – I practice 10 minutes of guided meditation followed by 10 minutes of youtube videos usually something mindset related, and then 20 minutes of exercise – this happens 5 days a week.

At weekends I have a more relaxed routine.

0715 – 0915 – I wake my youngest daughter and shower. I do the school run if my husband isn’t around, followed by a 30-45-minute dog walk, getting in my morning light (without sunglasses)

0915/0930 – I generally fast for about 12-14 hours between finishing my evening meal and my first meal of the day.

Breakfast is sometimes leftovers, any combination of eggs and veggies, or a smoothie but I always include protein, healthy fats and fibre and a cup of green tea.

0930 – 1.30 pm – I start work having set myself up for the day with my mindset, exercise and nutrition and hydration.

I often use a standing desk but sometimes sit, depending on the task. But I try not to sit for more than 30 minutes at a time and I am always running up and down the two flights of stairs.

I drink mainly water (around 2 litres) throughout the day but sometimes squeeze in an extra cup of green tea before 12 pm


1.30 pm -2.30 pm – I have lunch. I try and allow 4-5 hours between breakfast and lunch which is usually a mixed salad and some lean protein, and very often some dark chocolate (85%) too

3 pm I take the dog for a 20-30 minute walk

3.30 – 5.30 pm I work and then I prepare dinner. 90% of the time this is homecooked from scratch but I stick to quick and easy recipes and always improvise depending on what is in the cupboard/fridge.

6.30 pm  Dinner with the family again, again lean protein, healthy fats and fibre. I aim to get around 7-10 different veggies in my diet every day

If I am particularly hungry, I may also have some kiwi fruit or berries with coconut yoghurt

I end my meal with a cup of reishi mushroom tea which may also support sleep

7 pm – 8.30 pm  I often work for an hour or so after dinner, but I need to get off my laptop and finish work no later than 8.30 pm as otherwise, I am unable to switch my mind off to sleep.

8.30-10 pm I tidy the kitchen and get things ready for the next day. I sometimes watch 45 minutes or so of TV/Netflix but I can only cope with comedies these days

10 pm I read in bed for around 15 minutes before falling asleep and wake up 7-7.5 hours later to do it all again.

We are all individuals with unique needs but this is what currently works for me 🙂

With clients, I start from where they are at and add things in as and when they feel that they are able to make changes that work with their lifestyle.

It’s amazing how quickly these changes can add up to making a difference in how they feel

Contact me if you are ready to make the diet and lifestyle changes to support your health at gail@gailbradynutrition.com